I don't know why I've been falling asleep in the recliner so much lately, but its starting to piss me off. I've got a huge, very comfortable bed....but there's usually someone in it who bitches about my snoring (my sinuses are fubar'ed right now, so the snoring is worse) and bitching about my dogs and I hogging MY bed....
And that person is nothing more than a friend for fucks sake....yet they bitch about what I do in MY bed. Ugh.
Anyways, I woke up about an hour ago after a dream that was (literally & figuratively) an eye opener. I'll set the scene for those of you crazy enough to read my rambling bullshit.
I'm sitting in coach class on a Boeing 757-300, in row 42, seat A. There is an older guy who seemed to be pretty nice, fairly quiet sitting next to me and I don't know him, nor did I see much of his face aside from remembering that he had blond hair and blue eyes, and there are two pilots sitting in front of me, deadheading, and I do remember wondering why in the hell two pilots were sitting in the ass end of economy on a 57....but the dream didn't answer that for me. It seemed to be an uneventful flight, and I remember looking out the window while listening to my iPod.
Suddenly, I remember seeing the ground coming up pretty fast. My gut told me we were about to crash, even though the pilots hadn't warned anyone. No one else around me could tell that we were crashing, except for the two pilots in front of me. I remember lighting a Newport (haha!!) and telling the guy sitting next to me to get ready for the crash. He laughed at me and told me to relax....we weren't going to crash. I pointed at the window and told him to see for himself.
Then the pilot comes across the system telling all the passengers to prepare for a crash landing. I remember the impact, and thinking to myself that it was the most graceful landing I've ever experienced. Then panic set in because I realized all the bad things that "could" happen now that the plane was on the ground....were any of the fuel lines broken/cut....had any of the engines separated from the plane....was the plane about to explode into a massive fireball....why in the fuck is this plane still all in one piece??
If you've got no idea what a Boeing 757-300 looks like, Google a picture. I guess the old school nickname was "The Flying Pencil" because its extremely long and thin looking from the outside. I remember the pilot putting the plane in a tail-down attitude before impact....which is why I cannot figure out how the plane was still 100% intact post-impact. It should have at least broken at a "pivot" point....but whatever. Its all in a dream.
So, after I realize the plane is still all in one piece, and we're not on fire nor dying or anything of the like....its time to get the emergency doors open and get everyone the hell off this plane. I remember going in front of the pilots (that were sitting in front of me) because the row directly in front of them was the emergency exit row....the pilots were still sitting in their seats, drinking coffee and laughing. Wtf. I opened the emergency exit on the left side of the plane first, then opened the emergency exit on the right. I remember having the urge to run like hell, to push people out of my way and get the fuck off the plane....but I stayed and made sure everyone from the ass end of economy made it out first. Then I looked up to the main body of economy and noticed their exits hadn't been opened yet, so that was next on my to-do list.
Before I headed up to the main body of the plane, I went back to my seat and grabbed my bags. I had my constant travel companion - my black Louis Vuitton Murikami Speedy 45 and my purse (the current one I'm carrying.) After grabbing my bags, I went up front and opened all the emergency exits and shuttled people out. I kept telling everyone to get as far away from the plane as possible, just in case.
After everyone (including the pilots that were flying the plane) was out of the plane, I hopped out and called the plane crash into the local police department. Then I stared at the plane for a long time....in disbelief that the big ass plane had managed to stay in one piece. There was nothing more than a bunch of scratches on the plane....everything was still intact. No engines were ripped off....the wings were still there, with the flaps in the landing position. Unbelievable.
After waking up from that dream, of course I had to Google it. It seems that this dream was my brain's way of telling me I'm having confidence issues, or that I feel like things that are out of my control are crashing down around me. I'm guessing that since I live through the entire ordeal unscathed....this is telling me that things could be a hell of a lot worse. Since the plane stayed completely intact, I feel that means that I need to stop stressing about these things, because I'm not having to deal with a bunch of cheap or easily broken things.
I could be completely wrong, and I'm probably waaaaaaaaaaaay off with this one....but screw it. I lived through a plane crash.
Only in my dreams....
No comments:
Post a Comment